The Ministry of Finance has issued a second call for applications for the vacant position of SEBON Chairman.


The government of Nepal has published yet another notice for the appointment of a for the Nepalese Securities and Exchange Commission (SEBON). The Ministry of Finance has provided fresh information, which supersedes the previous information in its entirety. The Securities Body of Nepal has previously announced a vacancy for the position of chairman of the regulatory board, which had been previously announced. The position has been empty since Bhisma Raj Dhungana was fired by the Ministry of Finance in December of last year.

It has been given 15 days notice by the selection and recommendation committee constituted for the appointment of the of the board of directors, according to the notice. Due to the fact that the empty position of chairman of SEBON will be filled through an open competition, qualified Nepali citizens who meet the qualifications have been to submit their within 15 days of the announcement of the position. Applications for the Financial Sector Management and Institutional Division of the Ministry of Finance are being accepted on a confidential basis from those who meet the requirements.

The following is a list of anticipated qualifications and experience:

1) The candidate must be a naturalized Nepalese citizen.
2) The candidate’s moral character should be of the highest caliber.
3) At least seven years of professional experience in securities market operations, capital market development, or related fields such as finance, economics, or law are required.
4) The Securities Act of 2063 not consider the investment invalid.
5) The candidate’s age should be between 30 and 60 years old.

During the previous call for for the position of of the Securities Board of Nepal (SEBON), twelve were submitted. Applicants for the position, according to Ministry of Finance sources, include Niraj Giri, Dr. Nawaraj Adhikari, Anil Poudel, Sitaram Thapaliya, Chiranjibi Chapagain, Krishna Prasad Acharya, Jeevan Amgai, Gopal Bhatt, Dr. Keshav Prasad Shrestha, Hamal, Ambika Rimal, and Hemanta Bashyal, among others. These candidates will also be required to resubmit their applications (or withdrawal).

In accordance with the committee’s suggestion, the government will designate a chairperson for it.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.